Defenceman Tanner Lishchynsky

Defenceman Tanner Lishchynsky

Lishchynsky named 20th captain in Kootenay Ice history

Defenceman Tanner Lishchynsky has been named the 20th captain in Kootenay Ice franchise history

Tanner Lishchynsky has been named the 20th captain in Kootenay Ice history.

The announcement was made Tuesday morning prior to the Ice hosting the Saskatoon Blades in a 7 p.m. date at Western Financial Place.

“Since joining our club in late December 2014, Tanner Lishchynsky has impressed both his teammates and coaches with the hard working, never-say-never attitude,” said Jeff Chynoweth, president and general manager of the Kootenay Ice, in a team release. “He brings his work boots to the rink every day and is a person all players on our team can look up to and learn from as we continue through the remainder of the season.”

Lishchynsky, 21, takes the reins from Luke Philp, who was named captain in October before being traded to the Red Deer Rebels in a blockbuster deal Jan. 3.

“Tanner is a perfect example of how hard work gets you anywhere in this league,” said Ice goaltender Wyatt Hoflin Friday night after the 6-foot-1, 182-pound defenceman posted a three-point performance in a 5-3 win over the Regina Pats. “Anytime he has the puck, doesn’t have the puck, he’s working as hard as he can. He continues to do that every night and it’s huge for us.”

Hard work has certainly been the defining characteristic for Lishchynsky over the course of his four-year junior hockey career — a trail that has seen him suit up all across western Canada.

The Saskatoon product began his Western Hockey League days with the Prince George Cougars, suiting up in 78 games from 2012-13 to 2013-14, before being assigned to the Yorkton Terriers of the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League.

Lishchynsky made the most of his stint in Saskatchewan, helping the Terriers to the 2014 RBC Cup — Canada’s national Junior A championship.

The speedy defenceman registered a goal in the title game, helping his squad complete a dramatic third-period comeback before winning 4-3 in overtime.

From there, Lishchynsky was shipped north to the Flin Flon Bombers, where he started the 2014-15 hockey season, playing 29 games and registering 18 points.

His play grabbed the attention of Chynoweth and in need of a spare defenceman coming out of the Christmas break, Lishchynsky was recalled as an affiliate player for a five-game trial run.

The impact he had was immediately noticeable and shortly after, Chynoweth announced the veteran rearguard was around for good.

Fast forward to this season, and Lishchynsky now finds himself as one of only two remaining overage players on the Ice roster, with Hoflin the other.

With a bevy of quality 1995-born players heading into training camp, including Jaedon Descheneau, Hoflin, Jon Martin and Philp amongst others, odds seemed stack against Lishchynsky remaining in the fold beyond the 20-year-old deadline this fall.

Then Martin was traded. Then Descheneau suffered a season-ending shoulder injury. Suddenly, Lishchynsky was in a favourable position, and once again, he has made the most of it.

As the elder statesman, Lishchynsky has posted one goal and 10 points through 31 games this season, but most importantly, he has provided stability and experience on what is a largely inexperienced blueline and dressing room.

“He’s huge [for our success],” said forward Matt Alfaro Friday night. “This is his last few months of junior hockey and he’s making the most of it and playing well.”

After years of slugging it out on the bubble of the Western Hockey League, Lishchynsky is finally getting just recognition for his tremendous work ethic and leadership.

As the 20th captain in Kootenay Ice history, Lishchynsky follows in the path of many greats before him, including Sam Reinhart, Jarret Stoll and Adam Cracknell, just to name a few.

In addition to the naming of Lishchynsky as captain, Alfaro, Zak Zborosky and Cale Fleury have been named alternate captains.

Lishchynsky will make his debut as captain of the Kootenay Ice when the Saskatoon Blades visit Western Financial Place Tuesday night.

Kootenay Ice Captaincy History

John Kachur (1996-97); Steve McCarthy (1998-00); Mike Green (2000); Mike Comrie (2000); Dean Arsene (2000-01); Jason Jaffray (2001-02); Jarret Stoll (2001-02); Colin Sinclair (2002-03); Nigel Dawes (2003-05); Adam Cracknell (2005-06); Ryan Russell (2006-07); Steve DaSilva (2007-08); Andrew Bailey (2008-09); Dustin Sylvester (2009-10); Brayden McNabb (2010-11); Drew Czerwonka (2011-12); Joey Leach (2013); Sam Reinhart (2013-15); Luke Philp (2015-16); Tanner Lishchynsky (2016)