Skip to content

KIJHL: Championship series set

Kimberley Dynamiters & Kamloops Storm set to battle for KIJHL championship
The Kimberley Dynamiters celebrate a Game 6 victory over Fernie earlier in post-season play. The Nitros host the Kamloops Storm for Games 1 & 2 of the KIJHL championship beginning Saturday.

The stage is set.

The Kimberley Dynamiters and Kamloops Storm will begin play for the KIJHL championship Saturday, March 21 at the Kimberley Civic Centre.

The league released the full schedule for the best-of-seven league championship series Wednesday afternoon.

The Kimberley Dynamiters will be appearing in the KIJHL championship for the first time since the Kimberley Knights ventured to the league final during the 1979-80 season.

The Knights went on to defeat the Trail Smoke Eaters for the 1980 KIJHL championship.

Kimberley advanced to the 2015 KIJHL championship after defeating the Beaver Valley Nitehawks in Game 5 of the Kootenay Conference final in Fruitvale Tuesday.

The Kamloops Storm join the Dynamiters in the KIJHL final after having blown through the regular-season champion Osoyoos Coyotes in five games of the Okanagan/Shuswap Conference final.

This will mark the second consecutive appearance in the KIJHL championship for the Storm, which lost to the Nitehawks in 2014.

2015 KIJHL championship schedule:

Game 1 - Saturday, March 21 at Kimberley Civic Centre (7 p.m.)Game 2 - Sunday, March 22 at Kimberley Civic Centre (7 p.m.)Game 3 - Tuesday, March 24 at McArthur Park Arena (8 p.m.)Game 4 - Wednesday, March 25 at McArthur Park Arena (8 p.m.)*Game 5 - Friday, March 27 at Kimberley Civic Centre (7 p.m.)*Game 6 - Sunday, March 29 at McArthur Park Arena (6 p.m.)*Game 7 - Tuesday, March 31 at Kimberley Civic Centre (7 p.m.)

All times Mountain Time* = if necessary