Jeff Faragher

Jeff Faragher

Symphony at the head of the classics

Inaugural Symphony of the Kootenays concert features heavyweight works from the likes of Sibelius and Dvorak

The Symphony of the Kootenays launched its new season with a dynamic concert at the Key City Theatre in Cranbrook, Saturday, Oct. 25. Among the many notable aspects of the concert was the fact that it was the largest ever gathering of musicians the Symphony had ever featured — 49, including Artistic and Music Direct Jeff Faragher.

The theme of the concert was “From Old Worlds To New,” and featured a trio of powerful classical works that drew on folk-music traditions.

First on the bill was the symphonic poem “Finlandia (Opus 26), composed by Jean Sibelius in 1899 as a covert protest against increasing censorship in Finland from the Russian Empire, and the composer’s most famous composition. The piece featured the entire orchestra.

Following “Finlandia,” the Symphony’s string section took the stage as a chamber orchestra, to play the wonderful Holberg Suite by Norwegian Edvard Grieg, a suite of five movements based on 18th century dance forms.

After the intermission, the entire orchestra performed Antonin Dvorak’s Symphony No. 9 (“From the New World”). This powerful work, the composer’s most famous, featured themes derived from Native American and African-American music the composer heard during a trip to America.

Close to 400 attended the season’s inaugural concert. The Symphony’s next performance takes place Saturday, Dec. 6, at the Key City Theatre in Cranbrook. “A Celtic Christmas” will feature the Symphony of the Kootenays accompanying Celtic harpist and singer Keri Lynn Zwicker, who’s work has been arranged for symphonic performance specifically for this performance.

2014/15 is the Symphony’s second season since it’s returned from a year’s hiatus under Faragher’s baton. One disappointment for the organization this year is the absence of concerts in other Kootenay communities such as Nelson and Invermere. Symphony President Ian Adams says this is due to scheduling conflicts in these communities and funding issues, and that the Symphony’s Board of Directors is looking at ways to increase performances around the region.

Among other highlights of the evening, Adams noted “the French Horn section was as good as I’ve heard the Symphony of the Kootenays. And the strings brought Holberg Suite to life. Jeff Faragher brought out the best in all of them. In particular, the ‘fiddling competition’ between violinist Wendy Herbison and violist Graham Tagg was so lively. Anne Scott’s solo cello parts were amazing, and when joined by the rest of the cellos the passages were beautiful.”

Adams also noted the solo woodwind passages throughout the Dvorak symphony, and the excellence of the double bass section — “three people who rarely get much recognition, I’m always amazed at the intensity of the sound three instruments can produce.”

Just Posted

Kimberley Search and Rescue were able to quickly respond to a call for service and transport an injured mountain biker to East Kootenay Regional Hospital over the weekend. Kimberley SAR file photo.
Kimberley Search and Rescue respond to injured mountain biker on Bootleg Mountain

Kimberley Search and Rescue responded to a call for service this past… Continue reading

FILE – Perry Bellegarde, National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations, takes part in an event on Parliament Hill in Ottawa on Tuesday, July 7, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick
Indigenous Peoples Day must be a ‘call to action’, says Assembly of First Nations chief

Discovery of children at Kamloops residential school site must lead to change, Perry Bellegarde says

City of Cranbrook, Ktunaxa Nation to host flag ceremony on National Indigenous Peoples Day. (Corey Bullock file)
City of Cranbrook, Ktunaxa Nation hosting flag ceremony on National Indigenous Peoples Day

A temporary road closure and speed limit reduction will be in effect during the ceremony

A tent housing a mobile vaccination clinic. (Interior Health/Contributed)
Over 5K jabbed at Interior Health mobile COVID-19 vaccine clinics

The clinics have made stops in more than 40 communities since launching last week

Provincial Health Officer Dr. Bonnie Henry talks about B.C.’s plan to restart the province during a press conference at Legislature in Victoria, Tuesday, May 25, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chad Hipolito
Interior Health COVID-19 cases falling slower than the rest of B.C.

More than a third of provincial cases announced Thursday came from the Interior

Cranbrook Arts has opened the doors of their  new gallery space to the public with their inaugural exhibit, Kootenay’s Best.
‘Kootenay’s Best’ opens Cranbrook Arts’ new gallery

This exhibit has been in the works for the past several months and features the work of more than 50 emerging and established artists from across the Kootenays

Investigators use a bucket to help recover human remains at a home burned in the Camp fire, Thursday, Nov. 15, 2018, in Magalia, Calif. Many of the missing in the deadly Northern California wildfire are elderly residents in Magalia, a forested town of about 11,000 north of the destroyed town of Paradise. (AP Photo/John Locher)
‘Forever War’ with fire has California battling forests instead

Five of the state’s largest-ever blazes seared California last year, as authorities tackle prevention

Tokyo 2020 President Seiko Hashimoto and IOC President Thomas Bach, on a screen, speak during a five=party online meeting at Harumi Island Triton Square Tower Y in Tokyo Monday, June 21, 2021. The Tokyo Olympics will allow some local fans to attend when the games open in just over a month, Tokyo organizing committee officials and the IOC said on Monday. (Rodrigo Reyes Marin/Pool Photo via AP)
Tokyo Olympics to allow Japanese fans only, with strict limits

Organizers set a limit of 50% capacity — up to a maximum of 10,000 fans

The border crossing into the United States is seen during the COVID-19 pandemic in Lacolle, Que. on February 12, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Paul Chiasson
Border quarantine to soon lift for fully vaccinated Canadians

Eligible travellers must still take multiple COVID-19 tests

Pictured are Tyler McNaughton and Sacha Bentall. The husband and wife duo owns and operates Cutter Ranch in Fort Steele. (Zoe Ferguson Photo)
Farm Life: Where food comes from

A chat with Cutter Ranch

A portion of the George Road wildfire burns near Lytton, B.C. in this Friday, June 18, 2021 handout photo. THE CANADIAN PRESS/HO, BC Wildfire Service *MANDATORY CREDIT*
Blaze near Lytton spread across steep terrain, says BC Wildfire Service

Fire began Wednesday and is suspected to be human-caused, but remains under investigation

Blair Lebsack, owner of RGE RD restaurant, poses for a portrait in the dining room, in Edmonton, Friday, June 18, 2021. Canadian restaurants are having to find ways to deal with the rising cost of food. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jason Franson
Canadian restaurateurs grapple with rising food costs, menu prices expected to rise

Restaurants are a low margin industry, so there’s not a lot of room to work in additional costs

RCMP crest. (Black Press Media files)
Fort St. John man arrested after allegedly inviting sexual touching from children

Two children reported the incident to a trusted adult right away

Most Read