Brianna McWhirter (left) — Sam Steele Princess

Brianna McWhirter (left) — Sam Steele Princess

Jensen, McWhirter chosen as Cranbrook’s 2016 Youth Ambassadors

Sweetheart Pageant held Friday, June 17, kicks off Sam Steele Days

Barry Coulter

Cranbrook’s Youth Ambassadors for the coming year were chosen at the 2016 Youth Ambassador Pageant held Friday, June 17, at the Key City Theatre.

Jelena Jensen was named 2016 Sam Steele Sweetheart, and Brianna McWhirter Sam Steele Princess.

Official duties begin at once, with the Ambassadors and fellow candidates taking part in the Sam Steele Days parade Saturday.

Other candidates included Shanae Thompson, Morgan Mitchell, Amber Wavrecan, Candice Ericksen, Serena Stuart, and Amanda Carter.


Left to right: 2015 Sweetheart Kelsey Ackert, Candice Ericksen, Amber Wavrecan, Morgan Mitchell, Brianna McWhirter, Jelena Jensen,2015 Princess Sarah Ferguson, Shanae Thompson, Serena Stuart,Amanda Carter.

Emcees for the evening were Brianna Kennedy, herself a former Youth Ambassador, and Jason Wheeldon. Very much in the house were 2015 Ambassadors, Sweetheart Kelsey Ackert and Princess Sarah Ferguson.

The candidates began the evening by performing a striking rhythmic dance routine — sans music —  according to the theme of the Sam Steele Days weekend “Salute the Boots,” a tribute to armed forces, veterans, the Legion, police and emergency personnel.

The Speech and Talent presentation by the candidates followed, then the modelling of the individual Sam Steele dresses and the “impromptu question.” See further details of this later this weekend at or in Tuesday’s Cranbrook Townsman.

Visiting royalty and guests from Penticton, Castlegar Osoyoos, Trail and Whitefish gave greetings to the candidates and community, and then the awards presentation followed.

• People’s Choice Award went to Jelena Jensen.

• Toastmaster Public Speaking award — Shanae Thompson.

• The Talent Award — Jelena Jensen.

• Community Awareness Award — Jelena Jensen.

The Princess and Sweetheart were then announced, and crowned — with Sarah Ferguson passing the crown to McWhirter and Kelsey Ackert the Crown to Jensen.

The Townsman congratulates all candidates, and offers best wishes to Jensen and McWhirter for the coming year.

This story will be updated by and by.