Opinion

BC Teachers' Federation President Teri Mooring is asking parents of school-aged children to encourage the wearing of masks when possible in schools. (THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chad Hipolito)

LETTER: Teachers union encourages culture of mask wearing in B.C. schools

BCTF President Teri Mooring asks parents to talk with children about wearing masks in school

  • Nov 24, 2020
Some very happy pigs in the mud. (Corey Bullock file)

Farm life: Finding the strength within

In the words of Dr. Bonnie Henry: be kind, be calm, be safe.

The mRNA miracle?

A new age of vaccines: The ‘mRNA’ miracle

The new ‘messenger ribonucleic acid’ vaccines are a historical advance in medical technology

  • Nov 19, 2020
Provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry views the Murals of Gratitude exhibition in Vancouver’s Gastown, July 5, 2020. (The Canadian Press)

GUEST COLUMN: COVID-19 masks mandatory in B.C., but not everywhere

Orders require them where necessary, Provincial Health Officer says

  • Nov 17, 2020
Provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry views the Murals of Gratitude exhibition in Vancouver’s Gastown, July 5, 2020. (The Canadian Press)
People take in the scenery at sunset on Kitsilano Beach in Vancouver, B.C. Thursday, March 19, 2020. The province of British Columbia and the provincial health minister are urging people to practice social distancing to help curb the spread of the coronavirus, and business leaders across the province are encouraging continued unity and commitment from all British Columbians. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward

LETTER: Together, for a brighter future for all British Columbians

‘Time and time again, British Columbians have shown resolve and strength in coming together’

  • Nov 18, 2020
People take in the scenery at sunset on Kitsilano Beach in Vancouver, B.C. Thursday, March 19, 2020. The province of British Columbia and the provincial health minister are urging people to practice social distancing to help curb the spread of the coronavirus, and business leaders across the province are encouraging continued unity and commitment from all British Columbians. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
BC ELECTION

LETTER: Reflecting on the local and provincial election results

Wayne Stetski, the BC NDP candidate for Kootenay East, shares his thoughts on the B.C. election

  • Nov 15, 2020
BC ELECTION
video
Sensory Paths
NDP say child-care plan must be backed with cash
B.C. health officials prepare for vaccine rollout early next year
Beating back COVID-19 will take stronger public health measures and public co-operation: Tam
Hugs & Slugs

Winter is just around the corner, so here the latest from Hugs & Slugs

Slugs: Huge slugs to the white Subaru, 9.10am Sunday, Nov 1st for…

Hugs & Slugs
Letters to the Editor. Black Press file photo.

Letter to the Editor: I live in Creston, and I have COVID-19

“I am still sick, and I don’t know where I contracted this virus, but I want to share my story so that you know that Coronavirus is here in our little community”

  • Nov 10, 2020
Letters to the Editor. Black Press file photo.
Alex Trebek on Jeopardy. (Courtesy of CBS Television Distribution)

The Trivia King: A great Canadian

In the midst of all the tumult, I wish to acknowledge the…

Alex Trebek on Jeopardy. (Courtesy of CBS Television Distribution)
(Pixabay photo)

LETTER: Joint replacement wait times in B.C.

Arthritis society’s call for government to make reducing wait times a priority

(Pixabay photo)
FILE – A salmon pictured in this undated photo (Joel Krahn/Black Press File)

OPINION: Biggest threat facing wild Pacific salmon is Fisheries and Oceans Canada

‘Only Canada allows the farming of Atlantic salmon on the migration routes of wild Pacific salmon’

  • Nov 6, 2020
FILE – A salmon pictured in this undated photo (Joel Krahn/Black Press File)
Hugs and slugs
Hugs and slugs
Voting booth

US Election – More of the Same?

Gwynne Dyer By the time you read this you may know more…

Voting booth
Kootenay-Columbia MP Rob Morrison reflects on the meaning of Remembrance Day. Townsman file photo.

Honouring our veterans today and every day

Kootenay-Columbia MP Rob Morrison reflects on the meaning of Remembrance Day

  • Nov 2, 2020
Kootenay-Columbia MP Rob Morrison reflects on the meaning of Remembrance Day. Townsman file photo.
Every year, for the past three years, we have gone camping for Halloween weekend at HaHas Lake (pictured). This year we shall return for the last weekend of October. (Corey Bullock file)

Farm life: Another month come and gone

What I read, watched, listened to and made in October

Every year, for the past three years, we have gone camping for Halloween weekend at HaHas Lake (pictured). This year we shall return for the last weekend of October. (Corey Bullock file)
B.C. Liberal leader Andrew Wilkinson, B.C. NDP leader John Horgan and B.C. Greens leader Sonia Furstenau. (Black Press Media)

OPINION: Examining preliminary results from the 2020 BC Election

Some thoughts to ponder as British Columbia awaits the final results from mail-in ballots

B.C. Liberal leader Andrew Wilkinson, B.C. NDP leader John Horgan and B.C. Greens leader Sonia Furstenau. (Black Press Media)
We spend a lot of time in this little corner of our farm kitchen. (Corey Bullock file)

Farm life: An ode to the farm kitchen

Last Sunday, before we even got out of bed, I pulled back…

We spend a lot of time in this little corner of our farm kitchen. (Corey Bullock file)
Woensdregt column

Being Christian and asking questions

Yme Woensdregt “Is it okay,” she asked, “for a Christian to question…

  • Oct 23, 2020
Woensdregt column
Courtesy of the Kitsap Public Health District

My Covid test: A report from the front lines

Contrary to popular belief, they don’t ram the swab deep into your brain

Courtesy of the Kitsap Public Health District
Hugs and Slugs

A summery blast of Hugs & Slugs to warm up October

Hugs: And “they” said it couldn’t be done … Hugs and thanks…

Hugs and Slugs