Skip to content

Symphony holds AGM in advance of new season

First concert, "From Old Worlds To New," is set for Oct. 25.
Top: Jeff Faragher

The Symphony of the Kootenays held its annual general meeting Wednesday, Sept. 24, at the Christ Church Anglican Hall in Cranbrook, to discuss the exciting new season coming up, which begins Oct. 25 in Cranbrook, and to discuss the year past.

The Symphony took a year’s hiatus in 2012/2013, before coming back in 2013/2014 with a new Music and Artistic Director.

Jeff Faragher, cellist, Music and Artistic Director for the Symphony of the Kootenays, and Aurora Smith, a violinist from Nelson, provided a musical introduction before the meeting proper began. The half hour show featured the two performing as a duo, as well as Faragher demonstrating the use of electronics such as looping devices to create intriguing layers of sound.

At the meeting,  Steen Jorgensen announced he would be stepping down as President, though remaining on the board — Ian Adams will be taking over as President. The board of directors, new and returning, was also affirmed for the coming year. Left to right: President-elect Ian Adams, Lorraine Butler, Dr. William Newsome, Ruth Sawatsky, Rob MacDonald, Shirley Hansen, Michael Grossman, Michelle Wilson, Steen Jorgensen, Barry Coulter.