Cranbrook director wins prestigious theatre award

Terry Miller awarded Theatre BC's Eric Hamber Award for 2014 at Kamloops ceremony.

  • Jul. 14, 2014 7:00 a.m.
Terry Miller is pictured receiving the  2014 Eric Hamber Award at a ceremony in Kamloops

Terry Miller is pictured receiving the 2014 Eric Hamber Award at a ceremony in Kamloops

Cranbrook Community Theatre’s Board of Directors, along with Theatre BC, are proud to announce that Terry Miller is the recipient of the 2014 Eric Hamber Award.

Terry received the award in Kamloops, this past weekend, during Theatre BC’s Mainstage Theatre Festival’s awards gala.

“This is a huge and unexpected honour,” said Miller. “None of us expects to be recognized like this for what we do in community theatre. With great respect, humility, and joy, I accept this award.”

The Hamber Award is the most prestigious community theatre honour in the province. It is awarded to a person, organization, or group who have made an outstanding contribution to community theatre in British Columbia over an extended period.

“Any project Terry has taken on is always done to the best of his ability; he works tirelessly and always seems have more to give in order to help others” said CCT President Lorraine Harvey. “This is all done on a volunteer basis, and Terry is plays big part in keeping Cranbrook Community Theatre and the heritage building it is housed in, going.”

Terry has been involved with CCT for over 30 years and has been active on stage, behind the scenes, and as a board member. In those 30 plus years, Terry has served as Board President, Production Manager, Building Manager, and currently sits on the Society’s fundraising committee. He has directed ten plays, his latest “Halo” opens CCT’s season this October.

In 2005, CCT Lifetime member and past Board President, Bud Abbott, received the Hamber Award.

Eric Hamber was BC’s 15th Lieutenant Governor (1936-1944) and Chancellor of the University of British Columbia.

Since 1932, Theatre BC has served as the parent association for community theatres across the province. Each July, the Mainstage Theatre Festival features winning community theatre productions from the ten provincial Zone Festivals.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

COVID-19. (Image courtesy CDC)
Interior Health reports 65 new cases of COVID-19

Province-wide, there are 887 new cases of the virus

Item no 22, De-Kieviet Kindergarten class - Highlands, Starting Bid: $20
Christmas Village 2020 school auction items

The annual Christmas Village has gone virtual, here are the auction items from local schools

Peter Wilson, left, and Micah Rankin, right, formed the Special Prosecutor team that was tasked with reviewing and litigating charges stemming from the Bountiful investigation. Trevor Crawley photo.
End of Bountiful prosecution wraps up decades of legal battles

Constitutional questions had to be settled before a polygamy prosecution could move forward

RDEK reminds public to register for their emergency notification system. File photo.
RDEK reminds residents to register for East Kootenay Evacuation Notification System

Provincial Alert system cannot be used for local emergencies

COVID-19. (Image courtesy CDC)
Interior Health reports 70 new cases overnight

The total number of cases in the region is now at 1,426

The bids for the 2020 Christmas Village are open as of noon on Thursday, November 26. Please scroll through this album to see auction items available for bidding.
Christmas Village 2020 auction items

The Christmas Village has gone virtual, here are all the details

Arthur Topham has been sentenced to one month of house arrest and three years of probation after breaching the terms of his probation. Topham was convicted of promoting hate against Jewish people in 2015. (Photo submitted)
Quesnel man convicted for anti-Semitic website sentenced to house arrest for probation breach

Arthur Topham was convicted of breaching probation following his 2017 sentence for promoting hatred

Langley School District's board office. (Langley Advance Times files)
‘Sick Out’ aims to pressure B.C. schools over masks, class sizes

Parents from Langley and Surrey are worried about COVID safety in classrooms

The baby boy born to Gillian and Dave McIntosh of Abbotsford was released from hospital on Wednesday (Nov. 25) while Gillian continues to fight for her life after being diagnosed with COVID-19.
B.C. mom with COVID-19 still fighting for life while newborn baby now at home

Son was delivered Nov. 10 while Gillian McIntosh was in an induced coma

B.C. Premier John Horgan, a Star Trek fan, can’t resist a Vulcan salute as he takes the oath of office for a second term in Victoria, Nov. 26, 2020. (B.C. government)
Horgan names 20-member cabinet with same pandemic team

New faces in education, finance, economic recovery

Cannabis bought in British Columbia (Ashley Wadhwani/Black Press Media)
Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

Join Black Press Media and Do Some Good
Join Black Press Media and Do Some Good

Pay it Forward program supports local businesses in their community giving

The corporate headquarters of Pfizer Canada are seen in Montreal, Monday, Nov. 9, 2020. The chief medical adviser at Health Canada says Pfizer’s COVID-19 vaccine could be approved in Canada next month. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Ryan Remiorz
Health Canada expects first COVID-19 vaccine to be approved next month

Canada has a purchase deal to buy at least 20 million doses of Pfizer’s vaccine,

FILE – A paramedic holds a test tube containing a blood sample during an antibody testing program at the Hollymore Ambulance Hub, in Birmingham, England, on Friday, June 5, 2020. (Simon Dawson/Pool via AP)
Want to know if you’ve had COVID-19? LifeLabs is offering an antibody test

Test costs $75 and is available in B.C. and Ontario

Most Read