CFUW seeks nominations for Woman of the Year

The Canadian Federation of University Women (CFUW) Cranbrook Club is looking for nominations for Cranbrook's Woman of the Year, 2016.

  • Dec. 14, 2015 12:00 p.m.
Leslie Molnar was CFUW’s 2015 Woman of the Year.

Leslie Molnar was CFUW’s 2015 Woman of the Year.


The Canadian Federation of University Women (CFUW) Cranbrook Club is looking for nominations for Cranbrook’s Woman of the Year, 2016.

Woman of the Year for the East Kootenay was created by CFUW Cranbrook Club in 1984 to honour an outstanding woman who gives of herself either in paid work and/or as a volunteer in her East Kootenay community that betters the lives for those around her in her community.

This East Kootenay woman can also be one who not only gives of herself in her own community, but also at the provincial, national and international level.

Part of the criteria set out 31 years ago asks for nominations of a woman whose efforts create better opportunities for education, opportunities and/or safety for women and girls in her community at all the levels this woman serves in, yet by doing all this extra “work”, the nominated woman did not ignore her family’s needs.

Those wishing to nominate a member of a woman for Woman of the Year 2016 would be wise to get your candidate selected immediately. It is preferred that the woman being nominated is unaware of her name being put forward. The club asks that the nomination committee form your nomination statement as to why you think this woman should be selected as Woman of the year 2016 by the CFUW Cranbrook Club. From there, the nomination committee will work to find friends, family, co-workers, co-volunteers of this woman to write support letters to the nomination of this woman. Then, the chair of the nomination committee will send the nomination with the committee and other letters of support to Cathryn Henley at 805 – 29th Avenue South, Cranbrook, BC V1C 3K5.

Deadline for all nominations is Monday, 12 noon, February 15, 2016.

It is the hope of the CFUW Cranbrook Club that we are able to honour Woman of the Year 2016 on International Women’s Day, Tuesday, March 8

For further information, please go to our website:

The Cranbrook Club has 12 members locally and is a member of CFUW National, a non-political, voluntary, self-funded, bilingual and non-governmental organization of women university graduates in 110 clubs across Canada that works to improve the status of women and girls, education, peace, justice and human rights.

CFUW holds special consultative status at the United Nations (ECOSOC) and belongs to the Sectoral Committee of education of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO. CFUW is the largest of 61 national affiliates of the International Federation of University Women (IFUW).

Since 1984, CFUW Cranbrook Club has honoured 37 East Kootenay women. They are:

1984 — Julie Roberts

1985 — Sophie Pierre

1986 — Jan Levang

1987 — Roberta Taylor & Harjinder Sheena (Posthumous)

1988 — Susan Selby

1989 — Anna Mae Gartside

1990 — Pat Skordal

1991 — Sheilah Moore

1992 — Louise Stropky

1993 — Pat Townshend

1994 — Brenda Paul

1995 — Ann Rice

1996 — Mary Phillips

1997 — Elaine Fawcett, Cathy Fairclough & Mabel Chan

1998 — Susan Campbell

1999 — Ann Buckman

2000 — Daphne Hayden

2001 — Ruby Sinclair

2002 — Flo Reid

2003 — Mila Siquenza

2004 — Linda Abbott & Leona Gatsby

2005 — Karin Penner

2006 — Janyce Bampton

2007 — Janice Edwards

2008 — Joanne Wilton

2009 – Jayne Garner-Garlaneau

2010 — Sandy Zeznik

2011 — Vicki Dalton & Velma Mckay

2012 — Sister Nina Glinski

2013 — Jenny Humphrey

2014 — Gail Brown

2015 — Leslie Molnar